Reading for Pleasure

Reading for pleasure recommended reads

Early Years Foundation Stage - Nursery and reception

The Dragon with the Blazing Bottom by Beach, reviewed by Ted

*Pre-Order* The Dragon with the Blazing Bottom by Beach £6.99 Add to basket About the book The first in a fabulously funny and hugely commercial series about a dragon who ...
Read More

The Lost Leopard by Jonny Marx and Xuan Le

This stunning picture book follows explorers Flora, Fauna and baby Bud on an exciting action-packed journey through beautifully illustrated environments in search of the elusive clouded leopard. They travel through ...
Read More

Free by Sam Usher

This is a hug in book form. A warm and gentle text with a repeated refrain that echoes the lovingly rendered relationship between a child and his grandad. It is ...
Read More

Be More Bernard by Simon Philip and Kate Hindley

Perfect for fans of Jim Field, Rabbityness, Dogs Don’t Do Ballet and Giraffes Can’t Dance. Be More Bernard is a fabulously funny story about finding your own groove and being ...
Read More

Loading...

Key Stage 1 - years 1 & 2

Genie and Teeny Make A Wish by Steven Lenton, reviewed by Caitlin

Amazing, excellent and super-dooper funny. I love that you get to sort of be a character in the book. And the bit where you shake the book around to try ...
Read More

Genie and Teeny Make a Wish by Steven Lenton, reviewed by Evie

Title : Genie and Teeny Make a Wish 5/5 If I could wish for the best book in the world it would be this one! The amazing main characters are ...
Read More

The Lost Leopard by Jonny Marx and Xuan Le

This stunning picture book follows explorers Flora, Fauna and baby Bud on an exciting action-packed journey through beautifully illustrated environments in search of the elusive clouded leopard. They travel through ...
Read More

Anisha Accidental Detective by Serena Patel and Emma McCann

Anisha is all set to be a (reluctant) bridesmaid at Aunty Bindi’s wedding…until a secret ransom note arrives. Bindi’s groom has been kidnapped and will only be released IF THE ...
Read More

Loading...

Lower Key Stage 2 - years 3 & 4

Clara Claus Saves Christmas by Bonnie Bridgman and Louise Forshaw, reviewed by Evie

5 out of 5 Joy-O-Meter rating! This book is jingles all the way! This book is about a girl called Clara Claus and Nick Claus and the both want to ...
Read More

Dog Man review by Emily

Emily really enjoys the Dogman books and thinks you should read them too! Dog Man 10: Mothering Heights £10.99 Add to basket Dog Man 9: Grime and Punishment by Dav ...
Read More

Edie and the Box of Flits by Kate Wilkinson and Joe Berger, reviewed by Niamh

Edie and the Box of Flits is the first book written by Kate Wilkinson and is illustrated by Joe Berger, who is the well-known illustrator of the Hubble Bubble book ...
Read More

Rules For Vampires by Alex Foulkes, reviewed by Ben

Rules for vampires is a book based on a 111-year-old vampire eternally in an 11-year-olds body. At 111 all vampires must complete their waxing moon- to complete this they must ...
Read More

Loading...

Upper Key Stage 2 - years 5 & 6

Adam-2 by Alastair Chisholm, reviewed by Ben

Adam-2 is book based on a robot that has been built with the ability to learn and feel pain. He has been told by his creator to stay in the ...
Read More

Fledgling by Lucy Hope, reviewed by Evie

‘Fledgling’ is a story that will suck you in from the very beginning, and make it very hard for you to put the book down. Fledgling by Lucy Hope £7.99 ...
Read More

How I Saved the World in a Week by Polly Ho Yen, reviewed by Rosa

I loved How I Saved the World in a Week. The way she described the ‘greys’ sent a shoulder shaking chill down my spine. Even the cover feels suspenseful, tense, ...
Read More

Keeper of Secrets by Sarah J. Dodd, reviewed by Evie-Belle

This book put me on a rollercoaster of feelings… “The rock in Emily’s stomach dropped right down to her boots, weighing down her feet so that she couldn’t move.” Heartfelt ...
Read More
Key Stage 3 - years 7, 8 & 9

Alex Rider: Nightshade by Anthony Horowitz, reviewed by Ben

Nightshade is the most recent book of the Alex Rider series, a wildly popular set of books set on a 15-year-old boy who has been recruited by MI5. MI5 use ...
Read More

Dragon Skin by Karen Foxlee, reviewed by Leontine

An enthralling story about the bond between a girl and a baby dragon. What to expect: a baby dragon, friendship, a never-ending waterhole, and a secret cave. As you step ...
Read More

All the Money in the World by Sarah Moore Fitzgerald, reviewed by Isobel

This is a heart-warming story about social status, privilege and identity. The moral being: Don’t be ashamed of where you come from and who you are. In this story the ...
Read More

Hide and Seek by Robin Scott-Elliot, reviewed by James

Hide and Seek is a thought-provoking book about Amelie, a Jewish French girl who witnesses her family being taken away by the gestapo during World War Two, and her quest ...
Read More

Loading...

Key Stage 4 - years 10 & 11

Afterlove by Tanya Byrne, reviewed by Abi

5 Word Review: Love, family, friendship, tragedy, death. Grab the tissues, you will need them. And a blanket to combat the chills that this love story will give you. I ...
Read More

The Upper World by Femi Fadugba, reviewed by Torrin

The Upper World is the stunning debut from Femi Fadugba. Interstellar meets Attack the Block in a head on collision of fact and physics. Esso hits his head in a ...
Read More

Every Line of You by Naomi Gibson, reviewed by Farrah

If you like to be kept on the edge of your seat, in a constant state of suspense whilst reading, this may just be the book for you. To call ...
Read More

House of Hollow by Krystal Sutherland, reviewed by Sophie

This book is a mystery that will capture your attention as the bond between the three Hollow sisters Grey, Vivi and Iris is deeply explored. A uniquely horrifying story, where ...
Read More

Loading...