Reading for Pleasure

Reading for pleasure recommended reads

Early Years Foundation Stage - Nursery and reception

The Dragon with the Blazing Bottom by Beach, reviewed by Ted

*Pre-Order* The Dragon with the Blazing Bottom by Beach £6.99 Add to basket About the book The first in a fabulously funny and hugely commercial series about a dragon who ...
Read More

The Lost Leopard by Jonny Marx and Xuan Le

This stunning picture book follows explorers Flora, Fauna and baby Bud on an exciting action-packed journey through beautifully illustrated environments in search of the elusive clouded leopard. They travel through ...
Read More

Free by Sam Usher

This is a hug in book form. A warm and gentle text with a repeated refrain that echoes the lovingly rendered relationship between a child and his grandad. It is ...
Read More

Be More Bernard by Simon Philip and Kate Hindley

Perfect for fans of Jim Field, Rabbityness, Dogs Don’t Do Ballet and Giraffes Can’t Dance. Be More Bernard is a fabulously funny story about finding your own groove and being ...
Read More

Loading...

Key Stage 1 - years 1 & 2

Genie and Teeny Make A Wish by Steven Lenton, reviewed by Caitlin

Amazing, excellent and super-dooper funny. I love that you get to sort of be a character in the book. And the bit where you shake the book around to try ...
Read More

Genie and Teeny Make a Wish by Steven Lenton, reviewed by Evie

Title : Genie and Teeny Make a Wish 5/5 If I could wish for the best book in the world it would be this one! The amazing main characters are ...
Read More

The Lost Leopard by Jonny Marx and Xuan Le

This stunning picture book follows explorers Flora, Fauna and baby Bud on an exciting action-packed journey through beautifully illustrated environments in search of the elusive clouded leopard. They travel through ...
Read More

Anisha Accidental Detective by Serena Patel and Emma McCann

Anisha is all set to be a (reluctant) bridesmaid at Aunty Bindi’s wedding…until a secret ransom note arrives. Bindi’s groom has been kidnapped and will only be released IF THE ...
Read More

Loading...

Lower Key Stage 2 - years 3 & 4

The Howling Hag Mystery by Nicki Thornton, Reviewed by Aysha

As a fan of mystery, action and adventure stories, the Howling Hag has become one of my favourite stories, along with some other books! It’s great for ages 7-8+ and ...
Read More

Evie and the Animals by Matt Haig, reviewed by Aletha

Evie and the Animals is a thrilling adventurous book about an eleven-year-old girl called Evie who can talk to animals!!!  Her ‘Talent’ leads her into brilliant adventures and difficult situations ...
Read More

The Adventure Club: Red Panda Rescue by Jess Butterworth, reviewed by Katy

It is all about a girl called Tilly who gets selected to go camping with the Adventure Club in Nepal. One day she finds out that one of the red ...
Read More

Jack’s Secret World by Jack Ryder and Alice McKinley, reviewed by Niamh

I think Jack’s Secret World is a good book to read in the summer holidays because you feel like you’re away on an adventure with the characters. There’s lots of ...
Read More

Loading...

Upper Key Stage 2 - years 5 & 6

A Glasshouse of Stars by Shirley Marr, reviewed by Leontine

Three ways to describe this book are: heart-warming, beautiful and inspiring. At first it was a bit confusing as the style of writing the author, Shirley Marr, used was one ...
Read More

The Three Impossibles by Susie Bower, reviewed by Malia

This is a gripping story, deliciously dark yet fairytale like. Mim is a brilliant character – she is strong and brave, independent and likeable. The storyline moves fast enough to ...
Read More

The Weather Weaver by Tamsin Mori, reviewed by Thijs

This is a brilliant book. A very exciting, magical adventure. I am 10 years old and in year 5 at school. My favourite subject is PE. I like all sports ...
Read More

The Secret Detectives by Ella Risbridger, reviewed by Aysha

The Secret Detectives is one of my favourite books to date as it’s very well written. . This book is about a girl called Isobel Petty who is on a ...
Read More
Key Stage 3 - years 7, 8 & 9

The Upper World by Femi Fadugba, reviewed by Torrin

The Upper World is the stunning debut from Femi Fadugba. Interstellar meets Attack the Block in a head on collision of fact and physics. Esso hits his head in a ...
Read More

Hold Back the Tide by Melinda Salisbury, reviewed by Laura-May

It was bone-chillingly wonderful. A sense of quiet dread fills you up as you follow the characters along their journey! In a good way of course! It had a great ...
Read More

House of Hollow by Krystal Sutherland, reviewed by Sophie

This book is a mystery that will capture your attention as the bond between the three Hollow sisters Grey, Vivi and Iris is deeply explored. A uniquely horrifying story, where ...
Read More

A Good Girl’s Guide to Murder by Holly Jackson, reviewed by Isobel

This book is a dark and engaging mystery novel with plenty of suspense, well developed characters, and moments of extreme danger.  Sal Singh murdered Andie Bell – at least that ...
Read More

Loading...

Key Stage 4 - years 10 & 11

The Upper World by Femi Fadugba, reviewed by Torrin

The Upper World is the stunning debut from Femi Fadugba. Interstellar meets Attack the Block in a head on collision of fact and physics. Esso hits his head in a ...
Read More

Every Line of You by Naomi Gibson, reviewed by Farrah

If you like to be kept on the edge of your seat, in a constant state of suspense whilst reading, this may just be the book for you. To call ...
Read More

House of Hollow by Krystal Sutherland, reviewed by Sophie

This book is a mystery that will capture your attention as the bond between the three Hollow sisters Grey, Vivi and Iris is deeply explored. A uniquely horrifying story, where ...
Read More

The Last Girl by Goldy Moldavsky, reviewed by Torrin

Goldy Moldavsky has crafted an excellent novel that is deeply rooted in Stephen King, R.L.Stine and John Hughes. It’s a film buff’s dream. And it’s a great book as well ...
Read More

Loading...