Reading for Pleasure

Reading for pleasure recommended reads

Early Years Foundation Stage - Nursery and reception

The Dragon with the Blazing Bottom by Beach, reviewed by Ted

*Pre-Order* The Dragon with the Blazing Bottom by Beach £6.99 Add to basket About the book The first in a fabulously funny and hugely commercial series about a dragon who ...
Read More

The Lost Leopard by Jonny Marx and Xuan Le

This stunning picture book follows explorers Flora, Fauna and baby Bud on an exciting action-packed journey through beautifully illustrated environments in search of the elusive clouded leopard. They travel through ...
Read More

Free by Sam Usher

This is a hug in book form. A warm and gentle text with a repeated refrain that echoes the lovingly rendered relationship between a child and his grandad. It is ...
Read More

Be More Bernard by Simon Philip and Kate Hindley

Perfect for fans of Jim Field, Rabbityness, Dogs Don’t Do Ballet and Giraffes Can’t Dance. Be More Bernard is a fabulously funny story about finding your own groove and being ...
Read More

Loading...

Key Stage 1 - years 1 & 2

Genie and Teeny Make A Wish by Steven Lenton, reviewed by Caitlin

Amazing, excellent and super-dooper funny. I love that you get to sort of be a character in the book. And the bit where you shake the book around to try ...
Read More

Genie and Teeny Make a Wish by Steven Lenton, reviewed by Evie

Title : Genie and Teeny Make a Wish 5/5 If I could wish for the best book in the world it would be this one! The amazing main characters are ...
Read More

The Lost Leopard by Jonny Marx and Xuan Le

This stunning picture book follows explorers Flora, Fauna and baby Bud on an exciting action-packed journey through beautifully illustrated environments in search of the elusive clouded leopard. They travel through ...
Read More

Anisha Accidental Detective by Serena Patel and Emma McCann

Anisha is all set to be a (reluctant) bridesmaid at Aunty Bindi’s wedding…until a secret ransom note arrives. Bindi’s groom has been kidnapped and will only be released IF THE ...
Read More

Loading...

Lower Key Stage 2 - years 3 & 4

Loki by Louie Stowell, reviewed by Mia

I found the Loki book very funny. Loki was a god of Asgard but got sent to Midgard (Earth) as a punishment for being naughty. I liked how the story ...
Read More

Unipiggle by Hannah Shaw, reviewed by Evie and Katy

This is a story about a unicorn pig you’ll Never Forget! Read this book! It’ll make you want chocolate! – Evie Unipiggle is very funny . My age group for ...
Read More

Clementine Florentine by Tasha Harrison and May Mitchell, reviewed by Aysha

We absolutely LOVE this drawing! Well done, Aysha! Clementine Florentine by Tasha Harrison, ill. by Mya Mitchell £7.99 Add to basket Signed Clementine Florentine by Tasha Harrison, ill. by Mya ...
Read More

Niamh’s 12 Days of Christmas; Top books of 2021

1. Rainbow Grey by Laura Ellen Anderson Amazing new book series from the creator of the brilliant Amelia Fang. This was my favourite book of the year. Here’s my review ...
Read More

Loading...

Upper Key Stage 2 - years 5 & 6

The Offline Diaries by Yomi Agegoke & Elizabeth Uviebinené, reviewed by Catherine (11)

Ade is angry with her stepdad because his job has forced her family to move and leave everything behind. What’s more, he acts like such an angel that no one ...
Read More

While the Storm Rages by Phil Earle, reviewed by Leontine

I really enjoyed this book as it was full of amazing animals and exceptional determination. Every page was engaging and fascinating. This book is full of unexpected friendships and two ...
Read More

The Shop of Impossible Ice Creams by Shane Hegarty, reviewed by Rosa

This book is amazing. It’s like a perfect parcel of mystery, fun and friendship all in one. The ending all wraps up very neatly and, unlike some books, I felt ...
Read More

Onyeka and the Academy of the Sun by Tọlá Okogwu, reviewed by Mia

When Onyeka discovers she has a superpower, her life changes immediately. Not only is her superpower one of the things that has always caused problems and stress – her uncontrollable ...
Read More
Key Stage 3 - years 7, 8 & 9

Locked out Lily by Nick Lake and Emily Gravett, reviewed by Leontine

Locked out Lily is really good because the book makes you feel like your [sic] inside the book having the adventure Lily has. Locked out Lily is a story about ...
Read More

When Shadows Fall by Sita Brahmachari, reviewed by Abi

This impactful tale is beautifully crafted from a variety of viewpoints, written in a mixture of prose, narrative verse and journal entries, woven together with evocative illustrations by Natalie Sirett ...
Read More

The Revelry by Katherine Webber, reviewed by Tegan

I adored this book! It’s only quite short, about 260 pages long but there is so much depth and detail in the story. The story goes that every year, there ...
Read More

Pax: Journey Home by Sara Pennypacker, reviewed by Mia and Kate

Mia says: We received ‘Pax – Journey Home’ to review and so we read Pax first! They really need to be read in order. Peter is a young teenager whose mum ...
Read More

Loading...

Key Stage 4 - years 10 & 11

When Our Worlds Collided by Danielle Jawando, reviewed by Abi

Themes: Knife crime, racism, LGBT, love, friendships, fostering When fourteen-year-old Shaq is stabbed outside of a busy shopping centre in Manchester, three teenagers from very different walks of life are ...
Read More

When Shadows Fall by Sita Brahmachari, reviewed by Abi

This impactful tale is beautifully crafted from a variety of viewpoints, written in a mixture of prose, narrative verse and journal entries, woven together with evocative illustrations by Natalie Sirett ...
Read More

Afterlove by Tanya Byrne, reviewed by Abi

5 Word Review: Love, family, friendship, tragedy, death. Grab the tissues, you will need them. And a blanket to combat the chills that this love story will give you. I ...
Read More

The Upper World by Femi Fadugba, reviewed by Torrin

The Upper World is the stunning debut from Femi Fadugba. Interstellar meets Attack the Block in a head on collision of fact and physics. Esso hits his head in a ...
Read More

Loading...