*With Signed Bookplate* Glitter Boy by Ian Eagleton

£7.99

*With a bookplate signed by author Ian Eagleton*

Polari-Prize-winning author Ian Eagleton presents an unforgettable story about a boy facing up to bullying – and his own truths.

James loves dancing, poetry, and Mariah Carey — but can he find the strength he needs to let some hard truths out before he loses his characteristic spark?

2 in stock

Description

*With a bookplate signed by author Ian Eagleton*

A Polari-Prize-winning author presents an unforgettable story about a boy facing up to bullying – and his own truths.

James loves dancing, poetry, and Mariah Carey (not in that order, though, because Mariah would obviously be first!).

His teacher, Mr Hamilton, is getting married to his boyfriend and it seems that James will be part of a surprise choir performance at the wedding.

But James’s father seems uncomfortable about the plan, and a lot of other things – like any mention of Mr Hamilton, and James’s dancing, and how James talks about his new friend Joel. Meanwhile, a different boy has been harassing James at school and calling him gay, and it’s getting worse every day.

James can find relief with his beloved Nan, she’s been having worrying falls, and James can’t tell anyone, or she might be sent to a faraway care home. The secrets are building up, and James is starting to lose his characteristic spark.

Can he find the strength to let the truth out?

A joyful, raw and timely novel about family, friends, enemies, and being true to who you really are. Perfect for fans of Alex Gino, A.M.Dassu, and The Boy At the Back of the Class. Ian Eagleton is the author of Nen and the Lonely Fisherman, which was shortlisted for The Bookseller’s Book Of The Year – Discovery Category 2022

Additional information

Weight 0.5 kg

You may also like…