Reading for Pleasure

*NEW* Let us do the research for you

Reading for Pleasure recommended reads, tried and tested and available to order online.

We know that teachers are stretched and you don't always have the time to read as widely as you would like. That's why we have done the work for you. Put the kettle on, sit back and let us do the research, saving you time to spend reading these fantastic texts.

*This is a shiny new feature. More books to be added weekly.*

 Why not join our teachers mailing list for news on new updates and book packs?

Reading for pleasure recommended reads

Early Years Foundation Stage - Nursery and reception

Free by Sam Usher

This is a hug in book form. A warm and gentle text with a repeated refrain that echoes the lovingly rendered relationship between a child and his grandad. It is ...
Read More

Be More Bernard by Simon Philip and Kate Hindley

Perfect for fans of Jim Field, Rabbityness, Dogs Don’t Do Ballet and Giraffes Can’t Dance. Be More Bernard is a fabulously funny story about finding your own groove and being ...
Read More

Billy and the Dragon by Nadia Shireen

Our fearless heroine Billy is back! Whilst at a fancy-dress party, something terrible happens: Billy’s loyal sidekick Fatcat is kidnapped by a fire-breathing dragon. Uh-oh! But luckily for Fatcat, Billy won’t stand ...
Read More

Clem and Crab by Fiona Lumbers

Clem is an explorer, a collector, a protector of the seas! Treasure hunting on her beloved beach, she stumbles across Crab, his claw stuck in a plastic bag. Crab will ...
Read More

Loading...

Key Stage 1 - years 1 & 2

All the Ways to be Smart by Davina Bell and Allison Colpoys

Smart is not just ticks and crosses, smart is building boats from boxes. Painting patterns, wheeling wagons, being mermaids, riding dragons. A joyful ode to all the unique and wonderful ...
Read More

The Girls by Lauren Ace and Jenny Lovlie

Four little girls meet under an apple tree and form a bond that grows as they share secrets, dreams, worries and schemes. This beautifully illustrated tale charts the girls' lives through ...
Read More

The Adventures of Harry Stevenson by Ali Pye

Meet Harry Stevenson. He doesn’t live in a castle, or a witch’s cottage, or anywhere exciting like that. His home is in a flat with seven-year-old Billy and his mum ...
Read More

Milton the Mighty by Emma Read

Milton was strolling home after a weekend away in the downstairs loo, when he heard the scream. He froze. It was coming from the big house human, but it wasn’t ...
Read More
Lower Key Stage 2 - years 3 & 4

Milton the Mighty by Emma Read

Milton was strolling home after a weekend away in the downstairs loo, when he heard the scream. He froze. It was coming from the big house human, but it wasn’t ...
Read More

The Dragon in the Library – sneak peek and Q&A with Louie Stowell

Kit can’t STAND reading! She’d MUCH rather be outside, playing games and getting muddy, than stuck inside with a book. But when she’s dragged along to the library one day ...
Read More

The Secret Dragon by Ed Clarke

Mari Jones is desperate to be a real scientist, even though she’s only eleven.So when she discovers a tiny dragon while fossil hunting on the beach, she’s sure she can ...
Read More

Book review- Planet Omar: Accidental Trouble Magnet

Welcome, readers, to the imaginative brain of Omar! You might not know me yet, but once you open the pages of this book you’ll laugh so hard that snot will ...
Read More
Upper Key Stage 2 - years 5 & 6

The Highland Falcon Thief

Adventures on Trains is a shiny new mystery series for budding detectives by Beetle Boy author M.G. Leonard and Sam Sedgman, illustrated by Elisa Paganelli. First stop, The Highland Falcon Thief, a breathless ...
Read More

Nothing Ever Happens Here by Sarah Haggar-Holt

“This is Littlehaven. Nothing ever happens here. Until the spotlight hits my family.” Izzy’s family is under the spotlight when her dad comes out as Danielle, a trans woman. Izzy ...
Read More

Explorers on Black Ice Bridge by Alex Bell

If you haven’t yet discovered Alex Bell’s extraordinary The Polar Bear Explorers’ Club series then you have a real adventure ahead of you and, quite frankly, we’re jealous that you ...
Read More

The Extremely Inconvenient Adventures of Bronte Mettlestone by Jaclyn Moriarty

Expect the unexpected in this fast-paced adventure full of wit and warmth. A mesmerising story, filled with magic and dragons, family and friendship, puzzles and spells. Startlingly good and packed ...
Read More

Loading...

Key Stage 3 - years 7, 8 & 9

Tiger Heart by Penny Chrimes

One magical friendship. One roaring adventure. The magical tale of a bold young chimney sweep and a remarkable tiger, a dangerously hypnotic ruby and a mystical land that’s found across ...
Read More

Deeplight by Frances Hardinge

The gods of The Myriad were as real as the coastlines and currents, and as merciless as the winds and whirlpools. Now the gods are dead, but their remains are ...
Read More
Key Stage 4 - years 10 & 11

Furious Thing by Jenny Downham

(TW - Domestic violence, coercive control) This book is immensely powerful. The kind of book that will leave you staring at the wall and trying to make sense of the ...
Read More

Bearmouth by Liz Hyder

Life in Bearmouth is one of hard labour, the sunlit world above the mine a distant memory. Reward will come in the next life with the benevolence of the Mayker ...
Read More

Gloves Off by Louisa Reid

#GlovesOff by @louisareid is stunning! Beautifully written in verse and packing an emotional punch, it’s a gem of a book celebrating diversity, body-confidence in the face of bullying, and the ...
Read More